• Wealth Management

National Certificate: Wealth Management

Course Synopsis

The purpose of the National Certificate: Wealth Management Level 5 is to build the knowledge and skills required by employees in Wealth Management who have achieved a Qualification equivalent to NQF Level 4, preferably in a Financial Services related field, and are ready to study at Level 5. It is intended to empower learners to acquire knowledge, skills, attitudes and values required to operate ethically and responsibly in the highly regulated Financial Services environment and to respond to the challenges posed by the changing nature of the Financial Services Industry. It should add value to the qualifying learner in terms of enrichment of the person, status, licensing and recognition.

As a Qualification in Wealth Management, it provides a framework for learners to develop competencies related to the Long Term Insurance Sub-Sector, which includes Life Benefits, Retirement Funds and Medical Scheme Administration, as well as the Collective Investment Sub-Sector, Wealth Creation and Wealth Management. It provides a balanced learning experience and an opportunity for learners to apply academic skills in relation to the workplace. The Qualification is structured in such a way that it exposes learners to generic competencies required in the Financial Services Sector at Level 5 and allows for specialisation to meet the needs of different work roles.

The National Certificate: Wealth Management: Level 5 is a building block for learners who wish to follow a career path in Financial Services within Long-Term Insurance and Investment. The skills, knowledge, values and attitudes reflected in the Qualification are building blocks that can be developed further at Level 6.

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

Recognition of Prior Learning:

  • Provision has been made for prior learning to be recognised if a learner is able to demonstrate competence in the knowledge, skills, values and attitudes implicit in this Qualification. Application for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) should be made to a relevant accredited ETQA.
  • Credit towards a Unit Standard is subject to quality assurance by a relevant accredited ETQA and is conducted by a workplace assessor.
  • This Qualification can be obtained in part or in whole through Recognition of Prior Learning.
  • RPL will be done using a range of assessment tools and techniques that have been jointly decided upon by the learner and the assessor.
  • The same principles that apply to assessment of the Qualification and its associated Unit Standards apply to RPL.


Expand your mind for the 21st Century.