• Wealth Management

Further Education and Training Certificate Wealth Management

Course Synopsis

The FETC: Wealth Management is a generic Qualification in the management and creation of wealth that builds the introductory knowledge, skills attitudes and values required for learners to operate ethically and responsibly as Intermediaries and Administrators, and to respond to the challenges of the economic environment and the changing nature of the highly regulated Financial Services Industry. It is designed to meet the needs of learners in a variety of positions including Trustees and Principal Officers of retirement funds and medical schemes and Trainee Financial Planners.

The FETC: Wealth Management covers structured, low risk, cash backed investment or guaranteed products for conservative portfolios including life, disability, health events (dread disease and personal accident) and funeral cover. It provides a holistic introduction to Wealth Management and Wealth Creation and is a building block for the National Certificate: Wealth Management: Level 5. It should develop individuals who have a basic understanding of economics, asset management, investment principles, financial markets, risk (personal and financial) and the need to provide for financially for retirement. It should add value to the qualifying learner in terms of enrichment of the person, status, licensing and recognition.

The Qualification is structured in such a way that it exposes learners to generic competencies required in the management and creation of wealth including Long-Term Insurance (Life, Medical Scheme Administration, and Retirement Funds), Short Term Insurance and the Collective Investments and allows for specialisation to meet the needs of different work roles. The electives make provision for different streams of specialisation. It provides a balanced learning experience and an opportunity for learners to apply academic skills in relation to the workplace.

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

Recognition of Prior Learning:

  • Provision has been made for prior learning to be recognised if a learner is able to demonstrate competence in the knowledge, skills, values and attitudes implicit in this Qualification. Application for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) should be made to a relevant accredited ETQA.
  • Credit towards a Unit Standard is subject to quality assurance by a relevant accredited ETQA and is conducted by a workplace assessor.
  • This Qualification can be obtained in part or in whole through Recognition of Prior Learning.
  • RPL will be done using a range of assessment tools and techniques that have been jointly decided upon by the learner and the assessor.
  • The same principles that apply to assessment of the Qualification and its associated Unit Standards apply to RPL.


Expand your mind for the 21st Century.